New Mexico Home Inspector License Application


New Mexico Home Inspector License Application	January 1	2020
This Application is for use by candidates applying for a New Mexico Home Inspector License. It contains all of the provisions of the Home Inspector Licensing Act regarding qualifications and prerequisites for licensure as a Home Inspector. 	NM Regulation and Licensing Department



	             
Section: A Home Inspector License Applicant Information

	1. Last Name (include suffix: i.e., Jr., Sr., III)                   First Name                                               Middle Name or Initial

      

	2. Residential Mailing Address, City, State, ZIP Code



	3. Location Address, City, State, ZIP Code (if different than residential mailing address – do not use P.O. Box; attach map if needed)



	4. E-mail Address - *please use an email address that will not change based upon employment changes



	5. Residential Phone (including area code)


	6. Social Security Number

	7. Date of Birth (MM/DD/YYYY)


	8. INACTIVE LICENSE OPTION:  Yes      No   Upon the issuance of the license, I choose to be in “inactive” status and the Home Inspector Licensing Board will retain my license until such time that I transfer the license active status. .   Those opting for the inactive status option, please leave Section C Blank.   


	


	 Section B: Home Inspector License Applicant Prerequisites
	

	1. I have completed 80 hours of   classroom instruction as prescribed by the Home Inspector Licensing Board (the Board) and have attached course completion certificates to this application. This requirement does not apply to a candidate who has worked as a home inspector in each of the 24 months immediately preceding the January 2, 2020 effective date of the Home Inspector Licensing Act (the Act).  I have attached documentation of such work.
	
 Yes      No   N/A

	
2.        I have passed a national home inspector licensing examination and        any additional licensing examinations as prescribed by the Board and have attached examination score reports to this application.
	

 Yes      No    N/A

	
3.          I have completed a minimum of 80 hours of field training, or its        equivalent, as determined by the Board, and have attached documentation of such training to this application. This requirement does not apply to a candidate who performed a minimum of 100 home inspections for compensation in the 24 months immediately preceding te January 1, 2020 effective date of the Act.  I have attached documentation of having perfomed such inspections.
	

 Yes      No    N/A

	4. 
	
 Yes      No    N/A


	
Section C: Statement by prospective New Mexico Licensed (supervisory*) qualifying broker. If you have opted to be “inactive status,” mark yes in Section A, 8 above, and do not fill out this section. 

I, the undersigned, am a Supervisory* Qualifying Broker, and hereby request that after issuance, the license for the new broker o this application, be mailed to my real estate brokerage firm for the person named on this application.

Name of Company: _________________________________________________________________________________________

Company Telephone Number:   _________________    Location Address: ______________________________________________

Mailing Address: _______________________________________

City: _________________________________________________ State_____________

Zip: ____________

Property Management- Will this Associate Broker be performing property management services for your brokerage? Yes No

____________________________________________                                 _________________           ______________________
Signature of Qualifying Broker (or signature of applicant applying 
as an individual broker)                                                                                                       Printed Name of Qualifying Broker                           License Number

______________________________________________________________   
Signature of Authorized Corporate Officer (if applicable)

*Supervisory qualifying brokers are those that were licensed as Qualifying Brokers in New Mexico prior to January 1, 2018, and/or have met the 4 year experiential time frame for the issuance of a Qualifying Brokers License. 



	Section D: Attestation Pertaining to Candidate’s Background and Character

Complete this section of the application by answering “Yes” or “No” to all questions below. 
  

	Yes          No
	1. Have you ever had a complaint filed against you with a home inspector licensing agency of this or any other state or jurisdiction? If you answered “Yes,” attach relevant documentation. If you answer “yes,” see Section D Instructions below.

	Yes          No
	2. Have you ever had a home inspector license or any othe professional and occupational license denied, suspended, limited, conditioned, or revoked? If you answered “Yes,” attach relevant documents. If you answer “yes,” see Section D Instructions below.

	Yes          No
	3. Have you been convicted in any court of competent jurisdiction in New Mexico or elsewhere of a felony or any offense involving moral turpitude? If you answer “yes,” see Section D Instructions below.


	Yes          No
	4. Are you now, or have you at any time during the past five years been named as a defendant in any lawsuits pertaining to any home inspecton or real estate transaction? If you answered “Yes,” attach relevant documentation. If you answer “yes,” see Section D Instructions below.

	 Yes         No
	5. I have included a Fingerprint Certification Form completed by a private fingerprinting services provider or a public or law enforcement agency.  If you answer “no,” see Section D Instructions below. 

	Yes         No             N/A
	6. I am currently licensed in one or more jurisdictions other than New Mexico, and have attached the appropriate certified license history(s) from the jurisdiction(s). If you answer “no,” see Section D Instructions below.

	Yes         No
	7. I have errors and omissions insurance coverage meeting the requirements of Section 12 of the Home Inspector Licensing Act and have attached a Certificate of Insurance to this application.  If you answer “no,” see Section D Instructions below.

	Yes          No
	8. I am at least eighteen years of age and a legal resident of the United States. If you answered “No”, you are not eligible for licensure. You must be at least eighteen years of age and a legal resident of the United States to qualify for a Home Inspector license. 


	

Section D Instructions

If you answered “Yes” to Items 1, 2, 3, or 4 of Section E of this application, Use the following Instruction to prepare supporting documentation that should accompany this application. 

	1. Prepare and send a written account explaining the details of the complaint and its resolution.
2. Provide a letter from the licensing agency detailing the events that caused action to be taken against your license, including dates and locations and any subsequent reinstatement of your license.
3. Provide the following documentation:
a. A copy of the judgment and sentence.
b. A written account of your part in the alleged offense and its current status.
c. If applicable, a letter from your parole officer detailing your degree of rehabilitation.
4. Submit the following documentation:
a. Copies of all relevant civil complaints in which you have been named as a defendant.
b. Copies of the final dispositions of subject lawsuits (if available), or a written explanation of the current status of complaint(s) against you.
5. See the fingerprinting instruction sheet and Fingerprint Certification Form on Pages 6 of this application form.


	If you answered “No” to questions 6 or 7 of Section E, follow the Instructions listed below. 

	6. Request from the state(s)/jurisdiction(s) (other than New Mexico) in which you currently or previously practiced, a certified license history which is to be included with this information when you submit your New Mexico Home Inspector License Application packet
7. All active Home Inspectors are required to have errors and omissions insurance meeting the requirements of Section 12 of the Home Inspector Licensimg Act amd Part Blank of the Home Inspector Licensing Board rules. Insurance may be obtained through the Board’s contract insurance carrier or another insurance carrier that can provide errors and omissions insurance  under the coverage, terms, and conditions as provided in the Board’s rules.  Enrollment forms and other information may be obtained from the Board office, the Board Web site at www.rld.state.nm.us/boards/homeinspectors.aspx or from the insurance carrier at blank,


	
Two Affidavits of Character Required

AFFIDAVIT OF CHARACTER: You must have an Affidavit of Character (section below) completed by two individuals or include character reference letters from two individuals who own property in the county in which you reside or do business.

Affidavit of Character
In signing this application, I affirm to the best of my knowledge and belief that the individual named on this form is of good moral character and is honest and trustworthy. I further certify that I am a property owner in the county of residence or place of business of the individual named herein.



	Affidavit of Character Forms

_______________________________________________
Name (Print)

X
______________________________________________________
Name (Signature)

______________________________________________________
Street Address

___________________________________________________
City                                State                          Zip

	

_________________________________________________
Name (Print)

X
______________________________________________________
Name (Signature)

______________________________________________________
Street Address

______________________________________________________
City                                    State                        Zip






	

	
Section E: Consents

1. CONSENT TO LAWSUITS 

By virtue of my signature below, I do hereby irrevocably consent that lawsuits and actions may be commenced against me in the proper courts of the State of New Mexico.

X
___________________________________________________________________		______________________________
Signature	of Applicant							Date

	
2. CONSENT TO EXAMINE AND AUDIT TRUST, TRUSTEE OR ESCROW ACCOUNTS

I, ________________________________, being a licensed New Mexico real estate broker or broker applicant hereby authorize the New Mexico Real Estate Commission or its authorized representative to examine and audit the trust, trustee, or escrow account maintained by me, and further authorize any bank or recognized depository to permit such examination and audit. This consent and authorization is made personally and/or corporately.


X
___________________________________________________________________		______________________________
Signature of Applicant							Date

	

	Section F: FINAL AFFIDAVIT AND APPLICANT SIGNATURE


AFFIDAVIT:  I hereby certify that all of the information contained in this completed form is true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. Do not sign until you have completed this License Application Form in its entirety.


X
___________________________________________________________________		______________________________
Signature of Applicant 								Date




Caution: Sections E and F must contain original signatures. Failure to sign any of these consents or the final affidavit will result in the application being returned to the candidate. 




New Mexico Home Inspector Licensing Board
Broker Fingerprinting Program

[bookmark: _GoBack]The New Mexico Department of Public Safety (DPS) uses an electronic Live Scan system of licensee fingerprinting and no longer accepts hardcopy fingerprint cards unless you are a home inspector who resides outside the State of New Mexico. For out of state home inspectors and those who do not have access to live-scan, fingerprint cards are no longer supplied by the NMREC. Cards may be acquired from any local or state law enforcement jurisdiction.
Prior to being fingerprinted at one of the approved Live Scan sites (statewide site list attached), licensees are required to register on the vendor web site at  https://www.aps.gemalto.com.  Licensees need the New Mexico Real Estate Commission identifier number, which is NM920263Z, to register. Licensees may also register by phone at 1-877-996-6277.
Licensees may pay the $44.00 fingerprint processing fee on line on the https://www.aps.gemalto.com website using a credit or debit card at the time of registration, or pay the fee by money order or cashier’s check at the Live Scan site at the time of fingerprinting. No cash or personal checks are accepted.
Licensees should ask the Live Scan vendor to complete the Fingerprint Certification Form that is enclosed in the application and renewal packets as licensees will need to submit that form to the Commission along with their application or renewal form. The registration receipt provided by Cogent at the time of online registration is also an acceptable form of documentation to submit with licensure paperwork.
Licensees outside New Mexico who do not have access to an approved Live Scan vendor may submit hardcopy fingerprint cards and payment to 3M Cogent at the following address. The Commission does not provide hardcopy fingerprint cards.
3M Cogent Gemalto, New Mexico CardScan
639 N Rosemead Blvd.  
Pasadena, CA 91107
Please feel free to contact the Home Inspector Licensing Board Administrator at  (505) 222-9829 if you have any questions.
Livescan Cogent Fingerprint Locations (Click on Fingerprint Location Map on the Cogent website for details).  Click here also for locations.


Fingerprint Certification Form

New Mexico Home Inspector Licensing Board
5500 San Antonio Drive NE
Albuquerque, NM 87109
Telephone (505) 222-9829

This form must be completed by the Live Scan fingerprint vendor, law enforcement agency, or other provider taking the applicant’s fingerprints. A copy of the form should be retained by the applicant and mailed or delivered to the New Mexico Home Inspector Licensing Board at the above address along with the applicant’s application for initial licensure or license renewal application. 

The undersigned certifies that they are a representative of:

____ law enforcement agency		_____________________________________
						Agency Name 

____ private company			_____________________________________
						Company Name

I certify that I took the fingerprints of (applicant) _______________________________
						          Full Legal Name Clearly Printed

Applicant Social Security Number: ________________________________

Date of Birth: _________________________________________

I further certify that the applicant presented appropriate documentation of their identity at the time of fingerprinting.

________________________________
Signature of Fingerprinting Official

________________________________
Printed Name of Fingerprinting Official

________________________________
Phone Number of Fingerprinting Official

___________________________________
Cogent ID NM Registration Number
Check List of ADDITIONAL INFORMATION REQUIRED – For Applicant’s use only 


  (If applicable) I have attached an original certified certificate of license history from the jurisdiction(s) in which you are currently or were previously licensed. 

  I have attached Completion Certificates for the following Prerequisite Prelicensing Courses and examination scores as applicable.

	 (If applicable) Home Inspector Principles and Practice

	 (If applicable) Home Inspector Law

	 Home Inspector Basics

 (If applicable) Documents documenting work as an home inspector and home    inspections performed in the 24 months preceding the January 1, 2020 effective date of the Home Inspector Licensing Act.

 (If applicable) National Home Inspector Examination: An original score report is required.

	 Other Home Inspector Examination: an original score report is required.


  I have attached a certificate of current errors and omissions (E&O) insurance coverage from Rice Insurance Services, New Mexico’s Contract insurance program manager, or another carrier.  Rice can be contacted toll free at 1-800-637-7319, or on line at http://www.risceo.com.  Please review Section 12 of the Home Inspector Licensing Act and Part Blank of the Home Inspector Licensing Board Rules accessible at www.rld.state.nm.us//boards/home inspector aspx , Law and Rules, for E&O coverage requirements.

  I have attached the completed Fingerprint Certification Form on page 6 of this application.

  I have enclosed the $250 initial application fee and the $1,000 three-year license fee. The Home Inspector Board does not accept credit cards or cash for payment of fees.  Please pay fees with a cashier’s or personal check payable to the  New Mexico Home Inspector Licensing Board.
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