Susana Martinez
Governor

Robert “Mike” Unthank
Superintendent

Alex Sanchez
Deputy Superintendent

Claudia Armijo
Deputy General Counsel

Christopher Moya
Acting Director

Alcohol and Gaming Division
(505) 476-4875

Boards and Commissions Division

(505) 476-4600

Construction Industries Division
(505) 476-4700

Financial Institutions Division

(505) 476-4885

Manufactured Housing Division
(505) 476-4770

Securities Division

(505) 476-4580

Administrative Services Division
(505) 476-4800

New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department

FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS DIVISION

Toney Anaya Building = 2550 Cerrillos Road = Santa Fe, New Mexico 87504
Mailing Address P.O. Box 25101 Santa Fe, NM 87504
Information (505) 476-4500 = Direct (505) 476-4885 = Fax (505) 476-4670
www.rld.state.nm.us/financialinstitutions

REGULATORY ALERT

“SMALL LOAN REFORMS”

New Mexico Small Loan Act of 1955 (858-15-1 NMSA 1978)
New Mexico Bank Installment Loan Act of 1959 (858-7-1 NMSA 1978)
The Money, Interest, and Usury Statute (856-8-1 to §56-8-30 NMSA 1978)

During the 2017 legislative session, the New Mexico legislature enacted new small loan
reforms through the passage of House Bill 347. The bill amended some provisions of
the New Mexico Small Loan Act of 1955 (SLA), the New Mexico Bank Installment
Loan Act of 1959 (BILA), and the Money, Interest, and Usury statute (Usury). House
Bill 347 was signed into law by Governor Susana Martinez on April 6, 2017 and will
become effective on January 1, 2018.

Below is a brief summary of reforms to be enacted on January 1, 2018:

e Aloan in an amount equal to five thousand dollars ($5,000) or less shall be made
only pursuant to the SLA or the BILA.

e No SLA licensee shall make a loan of five thousand dollars ($5,000) or less with
an initial stated maturity of less than one hundred twenty (120) days and repayable
in a minimum of four (4) substantially equal installments. Initial maturity and
installment terms do not apply to “refund anticipation loans.”

¢ No loan in an amount equal to five thousand dollars ($5,000) or less shall be made
with an annual percentage rate (APR) greater than 175%.

e All SLA licensees shall report the terms of any loan and the borrower’s
performance of those terms to a consumer reporting agency (credit bureau).

e The lenders exchange provision of the SLA will be repealed.

e All payday loan provisions within the SLA will be repealed.

o All loans made pursuant to the BILA must be pre-computed loans repayable in
installments and clearly identified on the loan documents as being made pursuant
to the BILA.

e Lenders making loans pursuant to the BILA may charge a processing fee not to

exceed the lesser of two hundred dollars ($200.00) or ten percent (10%) of the
original principal.
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¢ Inthe event there are insufficient funds to pay a check or other type of debit on the date of presentment,
the lender shall not debit a borrower’s bank account more than once unless the consumer agrees in
writing.

e A violation of the BILA or the SLA shall constitute an unfair or deceptive trade practice pursuant to
the Unfair Practices Act, §857-12-1 NMSA 1978, et seq.

e All SLA licensees will be required to submit an annual report for all loan transactions entered into on
January 1, 2018 or later. Reports will be due no later than April 15" of the following calendar year. For
loan transactions made prior to January 1, 2018, licensees will be required to report on loans made
with an annual percentage rate of one-hundred seventy-five percent (175%) or greater on or before
March 31 of the following calendar year.

e All SLA licensees will be required to pay an additional annual fee of $200 to fund financial literacy
programs developed and implemented by the Division and the Attorney General’s Office. These
programs may be offered through the New Mexico Higher Education Department and various nonprofit
public organizations.

e The state has exclusive jurisdiction and authority regarding the terms and conditions of loans to which
the BILA and the SLA is applicable. Local governments are preempted from any regulation of terms
and conditions of permitted installment loans.

A finalized copy of the bill in its entirety is available to view on the Financial Institutions Division’s
website, http://www.rld.state.nm.us/financialinstitutions/Small_Loan_Companies.aspx. Should you have
any questions or concerns, contact Industry Manager David Mora at (505) 476-45609.
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