New Mexico Real Estate Appraisers Board-State Jurisprudence Exam
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[There is only one correct answer for each question. Please read each question carefully and
choose the best possible answer by circling the corresponding letter next to the answer. You
must score a 70% or better to pass this exam.]

1. ltislllegal in the State of New Mexico to appraise real estate without a

a. State issued license by the Board
b. birth certificate

c. real estate handbook

2. By accepting licensure in the State of New Mexico to conduct real estate appraisals, you
agree to

a. charge a fee for all appraisals
b. limit appraisals to three per year

c. abide by the Rules and Regulations adopted by the State Board and Legislature

3. An expired license may be reinstated within days of expiration upon submission of
required documents, payment and proof of continuing education.

a. 30
b. 120
c. 90
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4. A degree is required to apply for a NM Real Estate Appraisers General

Certificate/License.
a. Master’s
b. Bachelor’s

c. Associates

5. hours of continuing education in courses approved by the board are required
in each two year renewal period. of these hours must be achieved through the
board approved renewal update course.

a. 32,4
b. 12,12
c. 120,32
6. Itis the responsibility of the to request a renewal form if one has not been

received by the licensee within 30 days of expiration of the license.
a. Board Administrator
b. Licensee

c. Board License Specialist/Admin Assistant

7. The Board has the right to audit a percentage of renewal applications each renewal year to
ensure continuing education requirements are being met. The licensee must maintain proof

of continuing education courses taken in the past _ year(s).
a. 2
b. 4
c. 1

8. Inresponse to an investigation against any person who is a trainee, licensed or certified
under the Real Estate Appraisers Act, the respondent must respond within days of
receipt as allowed by the Uniform Licensing Act.

a. 10
b. 60
c. 30
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9. Allreal estate appraisal courses except the appraisal qualifications board (AQB) approved

hours and hour national USPAP courses, must have prior approval by the
Board if they are to be approved for credit towards continuing education or qualifying
education.
a. 12,32
b. 32,10
c. 15,7

10. All fees required under the Real Estate Appraisers Act or these regulations are
unless otherwise stated.

a. non-refundable
b. refundable only if application is denied

c. refundable

11. An administrative late fee is $ , while an administrative reinstatement fee is
$
a. 300, 400
b. 50, 100
c. 100, 200
12. All licenses will expire every year(s) on April 30th,
a. 2
b. 4
c. 1

13. Reciprocity: Applicant for New Mexico State Licensed Appraiser, residential or general
certified, must hold in another state in which that state must extend

privileges of licensure or certification to practice within the State of New Mexico.
a. residency
b. an appraisers license or certificate

c. employment
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14. means a trainee, license, residential certificate or general certificate.
a. Appraiser
b. Licensee

c. Worker

15. When training for residential license or residential certification the supervisor must
accompany the trainee on complete interior inspections of the subject property on the first
assignments.

a. 100
b. 10
c. 50
16. No more than of the hours for continuing education may be from courses offered

over the internet or other distance learning modalities.

a. 14
b. 32
c. 10

17. An appraiser may not perform an appraisal for an AMC unless that company is
the State of New Mexico pursuant to the Appraisal Management Company
Registration Act.

a. registered with
b. located in

c. hiring employees from

18. In order to receive a certificate of a written request must be submitted

to the Board and a paid fee.
a. Compliance
b. Appreciation

c. Good Standing
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19. Applicants for state general certification must have a minimum of hours of

experience in real property appraisal obtained during no fewer than 30 months of which

1,500 hours must be in non-residential appraisal work.
a. 1,500
b. 2,500

c. 3,000

20. Practicing beyond the of the trainee, license or certificate as defined by state

law or regulations can lead to disciplinary action against that license.

a. education
b. scope

c. physical ability

CERTIFICATION STATEMENT

I hereby certify, under penalty of perjury, that the foregoing examination has been
completed by me, on my own, after reading and studying the New Mexico Real Estate
Appraisers Licensing and Certification Law and Rules and Regulations and without

consulting any other person.

Signature of applicant Date
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