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INSTRUCTIONS FOR PRIVATE INVESTIGATOR LICENSE (PI) 

 
Application for PI License must include the following information: 

1. Complete the PI Application and sign before a Notary Public. 
2. Any “Yes” answers for questions A through J on page 2 of the application require further information.  
3. A “Yes” answer on question B requires a date of conviction; the city/county/judicial district/state of 

the action; a copy of all pertinent court documents and records; name of the judge; terms of probation; 
name of probation officer. 

4. If you have used a different name, you must explain why and when. 
5. Proof of experience of experience that has been acquired within the five (5) years preceding the filing 

of the application with the department which must consist of not less than 6,000 hours of actual work 
performed in: 

a. investigation for the purpose of obtaining information with reference to a crime or wrongs 
done or threatened against the United States; 

b. investigation of persons; 
c. the location, disposition or recovery of lost or stolen property; 
d. the cause or responsibility for fire, losses, motor vehicle or other accidents or damage or 

injury to persons or property; or 
e. securing evidence to be used before a court, administrative tribunal, board or investigating 

committee or for a law enforcement officer. 
 
The following documents must be submitted with the application for licensure: 

1. Application fee payable to the Private Investigations Advisory Board. All fees are non-refundable.  
2. Two recent 2” x 2” “Passport Type” photos stapled to the front page of the application.  Do not use 

tape or paste. 
3. Certification of Experience forms, to verify qualifications; signed and notarized. 
4. Proof of age (birth certificate, driver’s license, State issued ID, or baptismal certificate). Must be at 

least 21 years of age. 
5. RLD Release of Information form and DPS Authorization for Release of Information form. 
6. Department issued jurisprudence exam. 
7. Firearms Certification (optional). 

 
FBI Identification and NM State Criminal Record.  In addition to the documents listed above, you will 
have to complete two fingerprint cards.  Fingerprints must be on Regulation and Licensing Department/Private 
Investigations Advisory Board coded fingerprint cards. To obtain those cards, please contact RLD at (505) 
476-4650 and they will be mailed to you, or, you may come into our offices located at the Toney Anaya 
Building, 2550 Cerrillos Road, Second Floor, Santa Fe, New Mexico. Complete the card with signature, date 
of birth, place of birth, height, weight, social security number and license type. 
  
Fingerprints must be taken under the supervision of and certified by a New Mexico state police officer, a 
county sheriff, a municipal chief of police or by comparable officers in the applicant’s state of residence if the 
applicant is not a resident of New Mexico or a RLD approved private agency or individual. 
 
Submit both cards to the NM Department of Public Safety with a money order or cashier’s check for $44.00 
made payable to the “NM Department of Public Safety”. This is the charge for the FBI and the state record. 
Cards submitted with the incorrect amount or with personal checks will be returned to the applicants.  

Please mail the cards and the payment to: 
  Fingerprint Section 
  NM Department of Public Safety 

P.O. Box 1628 
Santa Fe, NM 87504-1628 
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THIS FORM MUST BE LEGIBLE AND SIGNED IN THE PRESENCE OF A NOTARY 

 
 
 
Non-Refundable Fees:  Application Fee $200.00 
    
 
 
PERSONAL INFORMATION 
 
 
Last Name:      First:     Middle:   
 
Mailing Address:            
   (Street)     (City)  (State)  (Zip) 
 
Phone: (      )         Date of Birth:  / /  SSN:            -         -   
 
Sex:            Height:                Weight:                 Eye Color:                     Hair Color:   
 
 
ATTACH TWO 2” x 2” RECENT PHOTOGRAPHS.  If you wear glasses, tinted lenses, etc. please 
indicate below.  Dark or fuzzy pictures, side views and photos with sunglasses are unacceptable. 
 
 
 
 

Staple photos to 
application 

 
DO NOT 

paste or tape 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
I certify that I wear             

   (Tinted eye glasses, glasses, etc.) 

Department Use Only: 
Check or MO  #    
Receipt #     
Experience Certification   
Age verification    
Firearms Certification   
Jurisprudence Exam   
RLD Release of Information   
DPS Release of Information   
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ANSWER THE FOLLOWING QUESTIONS: Explain any yes answers on a separate page.  
 
If you answer yes to question B you MUST submit a copy of all pertinent court documents and 
records, the date of conviction, the city/county/state of the action and terms of probation. The 
Department may request additional information. 
 
 
A. Have you ever used a name other than the name shown above?   
If yes, list name(s) used and give all details on a separate page. 

YES NO 

B. Have you ever been convicted of a felony or misdemeanor?  
This includes deferred prosecution, judgment, pleas of guilty or nolo contendere in 
any state, territory, district of the United States or a foreign country. 

YES NO 

C. Have you ever been arrested for a felony or misdemeanor? YES NO 
 

D. Have you ever applied to or been licensed as a private investigator in any state, 
foreign country, territory, or institution? 

YES NO 

E. Have you ever had any disciplinary action taken against a private investigator 
license or any other professional/occupational license held by you or by any 
partnership or corporation of which you were a partner or officer, in any state, 
territory, district of the United States or a foreign country? Disciplinary action 
includes, but is not limited to, suspension, probation, practice limitations, 
reprimand, letter or admonition, censure, and any allegations currently pending. 

YES NO 

F. Are you currently more than thirty days in arrears in payment of amounts 
required to be paid pursuant to an outstanding judgment and order for child support 
in New Mexico or any other state? 

YES NO 

G. Do you use alcohol or chemical substances in any way that impairs or limits 
your ability to work with reasonable skill and safety? 

YES NO 

H. Are you currently engaged in the illegal use of dangerous or narcotic drugs? YES NO 
 

I. Have you ever been found to have violated the requirements of a state or federal 
labor, tax or employee benefit law or rule? 

YES NO 

J. Have you ever been licensed or registered by the New Mexico Private 
Investigations Advisory Board? If yes, list your number:   

YES NO 

 

EMPLOYMENT RECORD OF APPLICANT FOR PAST 5 YEARS: 
Enter most recent first, account for periods of unemployment, use additional sheets if necessary. 
 
Dates Employer’s Name & Address Job Duties 
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I        , under penalty of perjury, HEREBY 
DEPOSE AND STATE, that I am the person described and identified in this application and the 
information given by me is true and complete to the best of my knowledge and belief.  I 
understand that any information contained in this application may be investigated and any false 
or dishonest answer to any question in this application may be grounds for denial or revocation 
of my license.  
 
I further understand I cannot work as a private investigator until I have received a license issued 
by the Regulation and Licensing Department. 
 
Applicant’s Signature         Date     
 
STATE OF         COUNTY OF       
 
BEFORE ME on this    day of     , 20 , personally appeared 
the above-named applicant who, being duly sworn upon oath, states that all statements and 
answers contained in this application are true and correct. 
          My Commission Expires:    
Notary Public 
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RELEASE OF INFORMATION 
Print or Type Clearly 

 
I,             
 Last Name    First Name    Middle 
 
Social Security #     , Date of Birth  / /  
 
currently residing at          . 
   Street                     City     State       Zip Code 
 
Having made application with the Regulation and Licensing Department for Private Investigator 
licensure under the Private Investigations Act [Chapter 61, Article 27B NMSA 1978] and rules 
[Title 16, Chapter 48 NMAC] understand that a comprehensive investigation of my background 
may be conducted in connection with this application. 
 
I do hereby give the officials of the Regulation and Licensing Department and the Private 
Investigations Advisory Board the authority to conduct any such investigation; and do hereby 
authorize the release of any and all such information that pertains to my work history, any arrest 
information, and/or any other information on general qualifications for fitness to practice as a 
licensee as requested by this state agency. 
 
I have read, understand, and shall retain a copy of this document for my records. 
 
Applicant’s Signature:       Date:    
    (sign only before a Notary Public) 
 
Notary: Ensure that this document is signed by the applicants in your presence, and that the 
applicant’s name, social security number, and date of birth are verified by a valid form of 
identification. 
 
Subscribed and sworn to before me this   day of     20  
 
 
STATE OF             

Notary Public 
 
 

COUNTY OF      My Commission Expires:    
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CERTIFICATE IN SUPPORT OF EXPERIENCE QUALIFICATION 
 

 
Note: Six thousand (6,000) hours of qualifying experience must have been acquired within the five (5) 
years preceding the filing of the application with the Department. Actual work must have been performed 
in: 

a) investigation for the purpose of obtaining information with reference to a crime or wrongs 
done or threatened against the United States;    

b) investigation of persons;  
c) the location, disposition or recovery of lost or stolen property;  
d) the cause or responsibility for fire, losses, motor vehicle or other accidents or damage or 

injury to persons or property; or  
e) securing evidence to be used before a court, administrative tribunal, board or investigating 

committee or for a law enforcement officer. 
 

 

Applicant name  
 

Name of Business 
 

 

Business Address 
 

 

Business Phone Number 
 

 

Business Owner 
 

 

Supervisor Name 
 

 

Dates Employed 
 

From:    To: 

Position(s) held 
 

 

Number of hours 
worked 

 

 
I,      , present/former employer verify that the above 
named applicant is or was employed with the above named company. I further understand that 
said person has made application to the Regulation and Licensing Department/Private 
Investigations Advisory Board for a Private Investigator license, and I herby depose that I know, 
of my own knowledge that the applicant was employed for a period of not less than that 
indicated above. 
 
Describe in detail the exact duties of employee while at said company. Attach additional pages if 
necessary. 
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This form must be signed in the presence of a notary. 
 
The undersigned hereby certifies, under penalty of perjury, that all statements contained herein are true 
and correct and that this entity is authorized to provide such verification. 
 
Employer’s Signature         Date     
 
STATE OF         COUNTY OF       
 
BEFORE ME on this    day of     , 20 , personally appeared the above-
named applicant who, being duly sworn upon oath, states that all statements and answers contained in this 
application are true and correct. 
          My Commission Expires:    
Notary Public 


