Carnival Ride Insurance Program:
Q. What is the statute that controls the Carnival Ride Insurance Act?
New Mexico State Statute 57-25-1 through 57-25-6 control.
Q. Do I have to Register my Ride(s) with the State?
It depends on the type of ride. Anyone operating a “carnival ride” can only operate the ride with a certificate of inspection by a National Association of Amusement Ride Safety Officials (NAARSO) inspector and file an application packet with the State.
The Statute mandates, “…a “carnival ride” means any mechanical device, aquatic device or combination of devices that carries or conveys passengers on, along, around, through or over a fixed or restricted route or course or within a defined area for the purpose of giving its passengers amusement, pleasure, thrills or excitement, including bungee jumping facilities and state fair rides, but does not include playground equipment, a single-passenger, coin-operated device secured by a stationary foundation or a small promotional event or operation consisting of fewer than six kiddie rides designed for children twelve years of age or younger, including merry-go-rounds…”
Q. Where do I find a NAARSO Inspector?
You can contact the NAARSO office directly at 813-661-2779, they are located in Florida. The following link will provide you with a list of inspectors:
Q. Where or how can I find Carnival Ride Insurance?
Any insurance company that sells insurance should be able to assist you.
Q. What happens after I Register my Ride(s) with the State?
- From the time we receive your completed application to you receiving a certificate it will be within 30 days.
- You will receive an 8” x 10” wall certificate, which must be displayed during all times you are operating your ride(s).
- Incomplete applications will delay you getting your certificate. The delay depends on when you get all the correct information for the application in to our office. Make sure all year, make, model and serial number of every ride match all NAARSO and insurance company documents.
Q. How long is the Certificate valid?
The Certification is valid for one (1) year from the date of issue.
Carnival Ride Insurance Program Guidelines
Q. How do I Register my Carnival Ride(s) with the State?
You can register by filling out the application, and having a NAARSO inspector complete their part of the application.
You can email Paulina Braiman-Robinson at firstname.lastname@example.org or call her at: 505-476-4853.
Q. What paperwork do I need to register my ride(s)?
- A notarized completed Application.
- NAARSO Inspection forms and certification that your ride is operable.
- A Certificate of Inspection for each ride, must be done within the last 12 months, and be signed and dated by a NAARSO Inspector.
- Inspection must be done by a Class I, 11, or III inspector. Call NAARSO to get the name and number of an inspector. 813-661-2779.
- Attach a list of all each ride certified by the NAARSO inspector. The list must have the name of the ride, and the year, make, model and serial number of each ride.
- Copy of the NAARSO Inspector’s certification card.
- IF you have Co-Karts or Bumper Boats, each unit must be individually inspected by NAARSO; and you must provide the year, make, model and serial number of each individual Kart or Boat.
- ANY corrective action noted by NAARSO Inspector must be noted and any deficiencies correct and re-inspected by the NAARSO Inspector.
- Proof of insurance (at least a $3 million dollar policy for each ride, aggregate for each occurrence).
- Insurance Certificate must have the CORRECT name on the Certificate – NO d/b/a.
- The holder of the Insurance Certificate must be named as Carnival Rides Insurance Act/State of New Mexico
- Insurance Certificate must have the year, make, model and serial number of each ride.
- If operating a Go-Kart or Bumper Boat unit, then your policy must include the number assigned and printed on the outside door frame of each individual car or boat unit.
- Safety Log
Attach a copy of the current daily safety log used for inspections before the public is permitted to board a ride.
Include a $50 filing fee per ride, made payable to the Carnival Ride Insurance Program.
Rides Shall Not Be Operated Until Certified By Carnival Ride Insurance Program
You may be notified if your application is incomplete or inaccurate. Any delays on your part mean delays in being able to process your application. A minimum of 30 days is necessary to process ANY application.
When you application is complete, you will be issued a certificate. If you want your certificate sooner, you must send an express pre-paid envelope.