Alcohol & Gaming: Overviews
All temporary Server Permits will be valid for 120-150 days from the date of issuance.
Duplicate Server Permit: please complete a Duplicate Request Form from our Miscellaneous Forms Section in Forms & Applications and mail it back to Alcohol & Gaming Division with a $10.00 Cashier’s Check or Money Order (this Division no longer accepts cash as a type of payment) and a copy of your Driver’s License.
THIS DIVISION WILL NO LONGER ACCEPT CASH FOR ANY TYPE OF PAYMENT
New procedures for applicants submitting fingerprints for liquor licensing with the New Mexico Alcohol and Gaming Division
1. We recommend that all applicants first call the Division and speak with a hearing officer to confirm whether or not fingerprints are required.
2. If fingerprints are required, applicants must first register online with www.cogentid.com. Click the “New Mexico” link, then select “register online for background check” link under “Applicant Use” box. You may then register and pay online for a background check.
3. When you reach the registration screen, please use the New Mexico AGD ORI # NM920020Z, under Regulation & Licensing Alcohol and Gaming. Use may also locate our ORI via the Cogent ORI lookup function. Please note: YOU MUST USE THE CORRECT ORI number or you will have to repeat the application process and pay an additional fee. If you do not use the correct ORI number, AGD will NOT receive an FBI background report.
4. In the “reason” box, select “60-3A-9 Alcohol Licensing”.
5. Verify your information and print a receipt. Take the receipt and a VALID PHOTO ID to a Cogent fingerprint location that is convenient for you. To find a location, click the finger print location tab on the bottom of the page of the registration screen.
6. Fingerprinting fee is $44.00 payable on-line or by money order payable to 3M Cogent per instructions on the Cogent site.
7. Out-of-state applicants must register with Cogent. If you are out of state and submitting fingerprint cards for processing, you are still required to register with Cogent but you must submit the fingerprint cards, forms, copy of registration receipt from Cogent and fee (still made out to 3M Cogent), to the AGD office. AGD will submit them to Cogent after verification of compliance with the Liquor Control Act. It is VERY important when submitting fingerprints cards to SPECIFICALLY IDENTIFY purpose, i.e. you are the President, VP, Secretary, Treasurer, Director, Owner with percentage, Member with percentage, etc., in the reason fingerprinted box on each fingerprint card.
If you have questions regarding on-line registration screen or process, contact the Cogent call center at 877-996-6277
Because the Liquor Control Act does not allow for a convicted felon to own or be an officer on a liquor license this agency requires such persons to be fingerprinted to receive the background reports from the State and Federal level. Therefore the Federal Bureau of Investigation requires the following notice:
Applicant Notification and Record Challenge
Officials at the governmental institutions and other entities authorized to submit fingerprints and receive FBI identification records under this authority must notify the individuals fingerprinted that the fingerprints will be used to check the criminal history records of the FBI. The officials making the determination of suitability for licensing or employment shall provide the applicants the opportunity to complete, or challenge the accuracy of, the information contained in the FBI identification record. These officials also must advise the applicants that procedures for obtaining a change, correction, or updating of an FBI identification record are set forth in Title 28, C.F.R., § 16.34. Officials making such determinations should not deny the license or employment based on information in the record until the applicant has been afforded a reasonable time to correct or complete the record, or has declined to do so. (Title 42, U.S.C., §14616, Article IV (c); Title 28 C.F.R., § 50.12 (b))
To see the AGD proposed rule hearing agenda for November 7, 2013, click here.
AGD RULEMAKING: AGD published a notice of rule hearing on September 30, 2013 and made its proposed rules available to public for comment. AGD received significant written comment and held a hearing on November 7, 2013 where interested parties gave testimony regarding the proposed rules. AGD will now take all of the public comment into consideration and hold additional meetings with interested parties regarding the proposed rule changes to ensure public concerns are taken into consideration before adopting the final rules. The rule hearing held on November 7, 2013 marks the beginning of a long process, and the public will have ongoing opportunities to participate prior to the final rules being adopted. We will continue to post updates regarding the rulemaking process.
AGD's Rule Hearing From November 7, 2013 - Click Here.
THIS AGENCY NO LONGER ACCEPTS THE ALCOHOL SERVER PERMIT DUPLICATE REQUEST FORM THROUGH THE MAIL WITHOUT THE $10.00 MONEY ORDER OR CASHIER'S CHECK AND A COPY OF YOUR GOVERNMENT ISSUED ID (DRIVER'S LICENSE, IDENTIFICATION CARD OR PASSPORT). For an Alcohol Server Replacement Request Form click here.
Server permits are valid for 3 years. To renew an alcohol server permit, a server will need to re-take an approved Alcohol Server Education class. View the list of classes here . Please be aware of unauthorized providers for the alcohol server training, only those listed on our website are approved for the State of New Mexico.
To search to see if you servers certification is still valid, click here and pick Liquor Control for Profession.
AGD'S MAILING ADDRESS IS PO BOX 25101 SANTA FE, NM 87505-5101
To check your Local Option Districts Sunday Sales Elections for New Mexico, click here
To check your Local Option Districts Liquor License Quotas for New Mexico, click here
Alcohol and Gaming Division issues, transfers and revokes liquor licenses as specified in the Liquor Control Act. It administers the Alcohol Server Training Program, educating licensees and servers to prevent sales of alcoholic beverages to minors and intoxicated persons. To find out the status of a pending application, please contact our office at (505) 476-4875. Please remember to make a copy of all forms and applications for your records before submitting them to this Division.
The Division also issues Special Dispenser Permits, sometimes called “picnic licenses” for special events, and restaurant licenses, commonly known as “Beer and Wine Licenses.” The Division approves the issuance of new licenses and the sale and transfer of all existing liquor licenses both for change in ownership or location, and publishes a list of the most recent liquor license sales prices.
For those who want to request to inspect public records pursuant to NMSA 1978, Chapter 14, Article 2, this Division charges $0.25 per page for hard copies and electronic copies of our documents. Please note that failure to send payment will mean that all of your future request for copies pursuant to IPRA will requires payment in advance of receiving copies in accordance with NMSA 1978, Chapter 14, Article 2, Section 9(c)(5). For the Public Records Request Form please click here.
The Division takes seriously every complaint alleging potential violations of liquor laws and works closely with the Special Investigations Division of the Department of Public Safety in investigating and prosecuting such violations. It’s the primary responsibility of this Division to protect the health, safety and welfare of all New Mexicans and those visiting our State, while regulating sale, service and public consumption of alcohol.
All liquor licenses - with the exception of Non-resident and Common Carrier licenses - in New Mexico expire on June 30 of each year. The Division mails out applications for renewal beginning in mid-February. Applications are due according to the following schedule:
If the following deadlines for submitting renewal applications for the 2015 -2016 renewal cycle has passed and you are just realizing that you did not submit your renewal application by the deadlines, you will be subject to late fees in the amount of $350 plus an additional $10 per day. You should file your renewal application with our division as soon as possible to minimize the late fees. You must also cease the sale of alcohol immediately until you receive a renewed license starting July 1, 2015.
|Dispenser and Retailer licenses
||on or before April 1st|
|Wholesaler, Manufacturers, Restaurant and Club licenses
||on or before May 1st|
|All other license types
||on or before June 1st|
To see the 2014 Liquor License Renewal Late Fee Schedule click here.
Licensees that are not in compliance with child support obligations, that have outstanding citations or who owe fees should contact our office.
Those who owe taxes should contact the Taxation and Revenue Department at (505)841-6233.
Mary Kay Root, Director
Debra Lopez, Deputy Director
For Citation/Child Support Holds/Tasting Permits information:
Alicia Duran, Citation Manager
Executive Assistance for Citations/Common Carrier/Child Support:
For Server Permit information:
For Liquor License Processing information:
Rose Garcia - Also Non-Resident Applications & Resident Agents Applications
For Liquor License Processing/Club License Processing/Fingerprint information:
For Direct Shipper Permits/Non-Residents Applicants/IPRA
Bernadette Ortega - PCP/SDP/Voluntary Suspension/Interstate Wine Tasting
Note: All Gaming is now handled by the State Gaming Control Board. Contact them at http://www.nmgcb.org/